Bearcats News · Rock Hill Bearcat Athletics Celebrate 19-20

With the end of the school year in disarray, overall, the Rock Hill Bearcat Athletic Program had a great year. We would like to recognize some of this years achievements even though we did not have an annual end of the year athletic program. This year’s teams without a completion of spring sports had many accomplishments. Here are some:

  • Rock Hill had 57 Senior Scholar Athletes and 101 multi-sport athletes
  • 20 Athletes signed National Letters of Intent to play in college
  • Rock Hill had 27 All-region athletes, this is from just the fall and winter sports as Spring did not have awards
  • Four of this year’s senior class made all-star teams.
  • Rock Hill had four all-state athletes from fall and winter sports and two wrestlers made Honorable Mention All-American
  • We had an individual state champion and one runnerup in wrestling and a bronze medal winner in swim.
  • Rock Hill High had 7 fall and winter teams make the playoffs. Its golf team was ranked number one in the state when its season ended. Boys soccer were ranked in the top ten in the state.

Here is a list of our award winners:



Christopher (CJ) Davis


Jessie Strickland
Bella Bowden
Grace Boone
Anna Lee Hoffman
Mikenzee  Nichols


Colton Smith
Bailey Wilkins
Jose mora
Michael Ramirez
Webber moore
Garrett Pfirman


Jada Rouse
Aydan Espinal
Maylen Mitrovich

Girls Basketball

Jada Jones
Gracie Wilson (Region 3 4A Newcomer of year)
A’Myra Wise
Dynasty Pichardo


Tylik Edwards
Anthony Jackson
Thomas Rainey
Carson Murray
Robbie Ouzts
Alex English

Boys Basketball

Shane Blakeney
Luke Bracey
Donovan Brown


Tylik Edwards (Shrine Bowl)

Anthony Jackson (N/S Football)

Bailey Wilkins (N/S Wrestling)

Michael Ramirez (N/S Wrestling)


Colton Smith (Wrestling)

Bailey Wilkins (Wrestling)

Michael Ramirez (Wrestling)

Christopher Davis (Swim)

Honorable Mention All-American

Bailey Wilkins (Wrestling)

Michael Ramirez (Wrestling)

College Signees

Zach Reuland (Golf – College of Charleston)

Manning Sloop (Golf – USC)

Maylen Mitrovich (VB – UNC)

Nick Petit (Baseball – (USC – Sumter)

Aydan Espinal (VB –Bloomsburg University)

Anthony Jackson (FB – UNCC)

Madison Lambert (GSoc – Limestone)

Skyler Fields (BSoc – USC Lancaster)

Claudio Ortiz (BSoc – USC Lancaster)

Kaleb Crochet (BSoc – North Greenville)

Nathan Pearce (BSoc – North Greenville)

Eliel Cuesta (Track – Gardner Webb University)

A’Myra Wise (GBask – SMC)

Unique Burch (G Bask – SMC)

Dynasty Pichardo (G Bask – USC – Salk)

Bailey Wilkins (Wrest – Gardner Webb)

Joy Stringfellow (G Bask Technical College)

Samantha Neff (Wrest – Limestone)

Michael Ramirez (Wrestling – Presbyterian College)

Eliel Cuesta (Track-Gardner Web University)

State Qualifiers

Swim – Christopher Davis (3rd)

Swim – Evan Villamor (23rd)

Wrestling – Michael Ramirez (State Champion)

Wrestling – Bailey Wilkins (State Runnerup), 5A Wrestler of Year

Wrestling – Colton Smith (3rd)

Wrestling – Jose Mora

Wrestling – Webber Moore


Volleyball (2nd round)

Swim (22nd in 5A)

Football (1st round)

Wrestling (2nd round)

Cheer (12th in 5A)

Girls Basketball (2nd round)

Boys Basketball (1st round)

Senior Scholar Athletes (3.5 GPA or Better)

Jesus Aguilar Tennis 3.5
Jackson Berry Golf 4.9
Cole Bitting Baseball 5.2
Toni Bogan Softball 4.7
Anna Grace Boone Cheerleading 4.8
Bella Bowden Cheerleading 4.7
Kaleb Crochet Soccer 3.8
Eliel Cuesta Football, Track 3.7
Sarah Cunnup Softball 4.3
Tayla Cuthbertson Cross Country, Track 3.7
CJ Davis Swim 4.4
Michael DeBorde Tennis 4.3
Jeremy Deller Golf 3.7
Alex English Football, Wrestling, Track 4.9
Ayden Espinal Volleyball 4.6
Alyssa Flink Track 4.4
Caleb Floyd Football 3.7
Katherine Goodwin Golf 3.8
Anna Hoffman Cheerleading 3.8
Griffin Hollingsworth Football, Track 4.8
Vilena Hrebar Soccer 4.8
Hayden Jordan Soccer 3.8
Michael Kanes Swim 4.2
Madison Lambert Soccer 4.0
Morgan Lee Cheer 3.8
Kendal Merrell Soccer 4.3
Emily Miller Volleyball 5.1
Taylor Mitchell Swim 4.9
Maylen Mitrovich Volleyball 4.4
Orion Moore Football 3.9
Carson Murray Football 4.8
Tommy Nguyen Tennis 4.5
Mikenzee Nichols Cheerleading 3.9
Allyson Onley Cheerleading, Basketball 3.9
Jeffrey Patterson Football, Baseball 4.9
Nathen Pearce Soccer 4.6
Hinson Perry Golf 4.5
Gabriel Peter Football, Track 4.6
Nick Petit Baseball 3.7
Dynasty Pichardo Basketball 3.5
Sarah Poindexter-Ibarra Swim 4.6
Thomas Rainey Football, Track 4.3
Michael Ramirez Wrestling 4.4
Marshal Rice Swim 4.9
Jordan Rogers Football 4.0
Henry Sharp Golf 4.8
Manning Sloop Golf 4.3
Challen Stowe Soccer 3.7
Josh Stradford Basketball 3.8
Jeston Strickland Cheerleading, Track 4.7
Joy Stringfellow Basketball, Soccer 3.5
Reese Therrell Softball 4.2
Jordan Thurmond Football, Baseball 4.9
Darvae Williams Track 4.0
Peyton Williams Baseball 4.3
Samuel Williams Track 4.0
Colton Wood Wrestling 4.1

Athletic Department Awards (Voted on by Coaches)

Program of the Year (Cheerleading)

Head Coach of the Year (Doug Pearson – Boys Basketball)

Assistant Coach of the Year (Tim Jones – Football)

Special Recognition’s (Years of Service and Support)

RJ Ochoa (Outgoing Bearcat Backer President)

Kim Brazzell (Outgoing Bearcat Backer Treasurer)

Rock Hill High would like to congratulate all our award winners. We regret that the banquet could not be held in person. We would like to thank our many sponsors of Bearcat Athletics, the Bearcat Backers Booster Club, and the many volunteers that make athletics at Rock Hill High School possible. Remember, in the words of former Principal Eric Lessmeister, “Once a Bearcat, Always a Bearcat”